Guest blog: Lee’s volunteering story

In this guest blog Lee talks about volunteering with MS-UK in the marketing department…


Hi I’m Lee and throughout the university summer break I’ve been volunteering behind the scenes, in the marketing department at MS-UK.

IMG_1435.JPG

I spent a lot of time researching the organisation before deciding to get in touch, and as luck would have it a voluntary position was just about to be advertised, seeking a helping hand at making sense of social media data. As a chemistry student myself, I feel obliged to point out that chemists love number-crunching and spreadsheets – it’s like our third favourite thing to do after quoting Breaking Bad, and spelling our names out with chemical symbols. Needless to say I was keen to get involved and help as much as I possibly could.

What’s really struck me at my time here is the atmosphere – everybody is exceptionally warm and enthusiastic, making me feel like a welcome member of the team. I was even invited along to our team day at a working farm; quickly becoming the envy of my friends as my Snapchat story filled up with videos of pigs and pygmy goats.

I’ve done a ton of research and learned a lot while working on this project, but have also had plenty of opportunity to be creative too. I got involved in the filming and editing of our recent Choices leaflets video, which was a lot of fun as I tried my best to accentuate Ryan’s excellent performance on-screen. Several years from now, when an Academy Award inevitably finds its way through my letterbox, I’ll know exactly who to credit for kick-starting my Hollywood career.

It’s been a fantastic experience volunteering for MS-UK, I am very grateful for the trust and responsibilities I have been given, and I would urge anyone else considering it to get involved too!


Find out more about volunteering on the MS-UK website.

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in Charity, Choices Leaflets, Colchester, Essex, Guest blog, Marketing, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized, Video, Volunteering, Website and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

