Guest blog: Meet Chloe…

Today’s guest blog is from Chloe Baxter, who spent last week with MS-UK for work experience in the marketing department…


IMG_1236Hi everyone, my name is Chloe and last week I joined the MS-UK team to do a bit of work experience. I study Business and Globalisation at De Montfort University in Leicester, so naturally it would have made sense to take on a marketing role for the week.

Since leaving school, throughout my A levels and my first year of university, I’ve never had a job that requires me to get up any time before 12. And I was pretty lucky to have a timetable at uni with not too many early mornings. So the first struggle occurred before I even managed to lift my head off the pillow. Fortunately, as the week progressed, I would learn that this is the only struggle I would face.

The role was much more enjoyable than I would have imagined; after being somewhat put off marketing in my first year of uni. This was not down to the content nor my lecturers, but more so my terrible work group that left the majority of the work down to a couple of us. The week kicked off with terminology that I have been learning about since GCSE Business, for example, the trusty SWOT analysis. It was cool to see all of the things I’ve been learning about for so long in the real world of work (and to be reassured that indeed all of this stuff is actually used, it wasn’t all for nothing!).

For sure, I most enjoyed the creative side like designing social media posts and different documents for an upcoming campaign. Alongside writing many a blog, I felt like I was really improving upon my writing skills. Not only that, I felt like I had to write super professionally because it’s for a legitimate business (not that I don’t do that for university), which made me challenge myself and also check over things twice as well.

For the most part, I was introduced to new software that I had never heard of before. That made it interesting, and if I were to come across them for the rest of my uni career or indeed for any career in the future, I would know the general gist of it at least. Like they say – you can’t buy experience, and I’m grateful to the MS-UK team for that! Shout out to everyone I worked with – it was a super sweet week.


All of the designs you see on our social media channels this week have been designed by Chloe – follow us on Twitter or like us on Facebook to check them out.

A big thank you to Chloe!

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in Charity, Chronic illness, disability, FaceBook, Fundraising, Guest blog, Marketing, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Twitter, Uncategorized, Univeristy, Work experience and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

