Creative fundraising for the Virgin Money London Marathon

Chris BradshawChris Bradshaw’s Mother in law has come up with a very creative way to fundraise for his Virgin Money London Marathon run for MS-UK – quilting!

Find out more in the interview with both Chris and Rosemarie…

 


mick and rosemary 002.JPGSo Chris, why are you running the marathon for MS?
My father-in law has had MS since his mid 20’s and ever since I’ve known him it’s been remarkable how he still continues to enjoy life through his high-tech wheel chair and still manages to get to occasional gigs. My mother in-law is also a hero as she is his fulltime carer and is amazing how she has the energy to do it continually and still keeps a big smile on her face! Both of these outlooks combined with supporting MS carers is why the least I can do is run the Virgin Money London Marathon.

How has training been going and what have you found the hardest thing?
Training going = Strong!
Hardest thing = Time! (lack of)

Hi Rosemarie. How long have you been quilting for?
Coming up to almost 50 years now!

Why did you take it up?
blanket 3.5Since having children I have always done some sort of sewing, be it clothes for the little one or making fancy dress costumes or dance costumes. I quilted on and off during that time but stopped when my husband’s condition deteriorated, so I became his full time carer. Then four years ago I myself became ill and spent many hours having treatment. As you can imagine I was used to a very busy life so having to sit still for several hours at a time was very difficult. My daughter knowing how I felt bought some material and said ‘make me a quilt’ which fuelled a passion for hand piecing and quilting. My husband who is totally disabled goes to bed around five in the afternoon until the following morning. Quilting allows me to enjoy the evening sitting with my husband whilst being enjoying my hobby.

What made you want to support Chris’ marathon run in such an inventive way?
In the past I have often been asked by friends if I would sell them my quilts but my pleasure is to give them as gifts. As there appeared to be an interest in them we thought that it would be a really nice and original way to help Chris in his fundraising and at the same time allow people to acquire something nice for their donation.

What does supporting MS-UK mean to you?
The work MS-UK do in raising awareness and providing support for those with this terrible disease is so very important, so raising money is a way of saying thank you.

What is the best thing about being able to create beautiful crafts and raise money at the same time?
IMG_5902Doing exactly that! Doing something I enjoy whilst helping make a difference for an important cause.

Finally Chris, are you looking forward to the big day?
Absolutely! Everyone has told me how the crowds are incredible and they carry you through the pain of the 26.2 miles!

You can view Rosemarie’s quilts at https://www.etsy.com/uk/shop/SnuggleforMS?ref=hdr_shop_menu

Chris’ JustGiving page is at https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Chris-Bradshaw-Marathon-2017

This entry was posted in Carers, Caring, Charity, Crafting, disability, Disabled living, family and MS, Fundraising, Guest blog, London, Marathon, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Quilting, Running, Uncategorized, Virgin Money London Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

