Meet Jill…

Hi,Jill Profile Pic small

I’m Jill the new Fundraising Manager here at MS-UK. I’ve been here a month now and have been getting to know the place and the services we offer. I’m so impressed with the great support MS-UK offers to people living with MS and their families. I’ve spoken to clients and carers at our Josephs Court Wellness Centre. There’s a real buzz about this place. The positive impact people get from coming here is clear both physically but maybe more important is the social element and being part of this highly supportive community.

I’ve seen the comfort our Helpline Advisors offer by answering some really varied questions from ‘I’m thinking of getting a dog, how will this affect my MS’ to ‘I’ve recently been diagnosed with MS, what does the future hold for me?’

I’ve also read a few issues of our bi-monthly magazine, New Pathways and have been inspired by stories sharing the courage and determination from people living with MS. I love what we do here and I’m part of a great team. I’m so revved up to maximise our fundraising events and activities to ensure we sustain and grow to be able to reach out to more and more people.

I started my journey in fundraising back in 2009. I moved away from the big smoke to the leafy suburbs of North Essex and wanted to integrate into my new community quickly. I joined Colchester Ladies Circle, the female arm of Round Table promising fun, friendship and fundraising. I found myself having great fun organising charity balls, race nights and even a Carnival raising money for good causes in my community. I loved fundraising so much I decided to make it my day job and joined the fundraising team of our local Hospice. I gained a wealth of experience in fundraising through lots of initiatives including an apprentice style challenge for businesses, mass events such as The Midnight Walk and Bike Rides through to lavish balls, quiz nights and talent shows.

Outside of work you’ll find me on the side lines cheering for my sons’ football teams (oh and I fundraise for the football team too!) or keeping our young daughter busy with swimming, baking and running around in the park. I like to work hard and play hard, but it’s all good fun and I’ve met some great people along the way!

It’s a busy time of year for us in fundraising so I’m pleased to say that along with Nick and Jenny (who joined the same week as me) we are a full team. We’re currently putting the finishing touches on the Virgin Money London Marathon, which is less than a month away. This year we have 111 fantastic, fit people running for MS-UK, we can’t wait for Super Sunday!

Preparations for the British 10k and RideLondon are also well under way. We still have some places so if you want to get fit for summer and achieve your goals join our teams for these two prestigious London Events.

We are really keen to spread the word and get as many people involved with our fundraising as possible. Weather you love getting active or prefer having a cuppa and a cake we have loads of fun, creative ideas to help make your fundraising a great success. We rely solely on our supporters to run our services so if you would like to help us raise some money and support people living with MS please get in touch with Nick, Jenny or myself. We’d love to hear from you.

Cannot wait to meet you all soon,

Best Wishes

Jill Purcell

Fundraising Manager

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in British 10k, Charity, Colchester, Fundraising, Helpline, Helpline Live Web Chat Service, Josephs Court, Marathon, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, New Pathways, Prudential Ride London, RideLondon, Uncategorized, Virgin Money London Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

