Guest blog: The Mont Blanc challenge!

In this guest blog, Tom Carr tells us all about his forthcoming challenge in aid of MS-UK…and boy what a challenge!

Tom is climbing Mont Blanc, and then skiing all the way down again!

Every penny Tom raises will help MS-UK continue our vital work supporting anyone affected by multiple sclerosis…


Tom Carr Mt Blanc blog image, Mar 2017.jpgWell here we are! Just over two months until I make my ascent on Mont Blanc and ski all the way back down.

I am raising money for MS-UK, the multiple sclerosis charity. This is a charity close to my heart, as I am doing this challenge in memory of a beloved family friend, Jane.

As I face the white mountain, that stands at an impressive 4,800m, and face the changing weather conditions throughout the week, I will be thinking of Jane and the family she has left behind (my good friends Tom and Emma), and I hope to do her proud.

My trip is now booked for 01 May 2017 with the preceding days for some last minute training and familiarisation.

Over the last few months I have made several trips to Scotland, climbing Ben Nevis, Ben Lomond, Cairngorm Mountain and ‘yomping’ along with a training mask. I resemble Hannibal Lector from a rather well known film!

My home training consists of mainly running with both altitude acclimatisation mask and a 25kg bag of cement in my rucksack, and of course a few strange looks.

Next Saturday 18 March I’m off to Andorra for some altitude training and skiing. This will keep the ski legs working and hopefully help out with future employment.

The great news is that on 28 March I will be going to Everest base camp for high altitude acclimatisation. This is with the kind support of an anonymous sponsor.

I fly from Manchester to Dubai then on to Kathmandu and again on to Lukla airfield perched on the side of a mountain at 8000 ft.

I will be spending 19 days in all with travel, trekking and climbing.

A further blog on my return!

I’m hoping to raise in excess of £5,000 for the event so please give generously!


You can sponsor Tom today, and read his full story, by visiting https://www.justgiving.com/fundraising/Tom-Carr-MtBlanc

This entry was posted in Charity, Do your own thing, family and MS, Fundraising, Guest blog, MS, MS News, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

