Fundraiser of the month – Lauren Duckling

Hello! My name is Lauren Duckling and I did a sky dive for MS-UK. I decided to fundraise for MS-UK, firstly, because I work for the charity and I see the clients in Josephs Court who have been affected. Not only by MS but with other neurological problems and they do not let their condition affect them. They have given me a better outlook on things and as I speak to the clients almost every day they have really put into perspective just how they miss the little things or what troubles them the most.

The second reason I decided to fundraise was because a person very close to me has MS and knowing it affects her very badly, I wanted to do something for her and the clients even if it made the slightest difference.

The first time I had heard about the event was when I was sitting with Mark who had worked in the Fundraising department and he emailed me the details and I had booked the date with a couple of my friends who chickened out last minute. I had thought about not doing the jump after they pulled out and maybe, booking another date in the following year when they could do it but I was looking forward to doing it so I continued with it.

I had picked a bad date to do it because not only was it December but my sister had a flight that morning – and to kill two birds with one stone – I had to be up and out the door by half 2 in the morning and then drive from London to Norwich. So after nearly 6 hours in the car I was going to chuck myself out of a plane. If the thought of that didn’t wake me up the McDonalds I had definitely did.

I’m really glad I did it. I thought that it was going to be scarier than from what my dad was telling me. The whole experience was worth it and I will most likely be doing another one in the near future. There was a point where I thought I wouldn’t make the minimum amount needed to be raised but then during the last couple of weeks I went from being under the target to being a couple of hundred pounds over.

In the end I managed to raise £523 altogether. I think the biggest tip I would have for anyone who is going to do any fundraising is to give yourself plenty of time for people to donate.

If you are fundraising online then getting your friends, as well as their friends to share your link is the best way I can think of to get your target.

To those of you who want to fundraise I wish you good luck!

This entry was posted in Charity, Colchester, Fundraiser of the month, Fundraising, Josephs Court, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Skydiving, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

