Guest blog: Liz is saying ‘Yes’!

Today we publish another of our ‘Guest Blog’ articles from Liz about how she plans to attend a course all about multiple sclerosis.

If you would like to write an article for our blog please contact john@ms-uk.org.

You can view the guidelines for writing for us online now at www.ms-uk.org/ourblog.


Liz Murby_300It is largely with thanks to my youngest sister, Anna, that I type yet another hopeful blog for possible publication in the MS-UK blog.

So what’s going forward for me right now..?

Firstly, me, me, me. The exercises Rachel Love ‘designed’ for me during my recent spell in Berrywood Hospital…no doubt MS related, but surprisingly, not that I was ever directly informed…made some lifelong friends during my brief-ish stay…friendships always good in my book!

Secondly, continue Professor Georgev Jelinek’s 7 Steps to Overcoming MS…nb., not curing, but Overcoming…Multiple sclerosis, can wait until after (I’ve made a good start, reaching page 29 of its 451 pages). The book is almost certainly available, cost-free to me and others within the UK, from http://overcomingms.org.

I trust you’ll find it as engaging as I am!

By happy co-incidence…If you’re as happy, and able as I am to use all tools available to address our ‘condition’, my copy of Open Door, the quarterly newsletter of Multiple Sclerosis Trust has literally just been delivered.., you cannot only enjoy reading it, and also communicate with the body via info@mstrust.org.uk or freephone 08003323839.

Hey, just done it again Allanah, following our brief joint meeting with Mary Lowthian, just a couple of weeks back, I’m thrilled to report, for all MSers within striking distance: you know you’re out there, please join us: you know we’re stronger together…

Anyway, attentive and alert Allanah, and her team, together with agents from yet another burgeoning branch of the national MS Society, relatively locally based, are thrilled to give us plenty of notice of the forthcoming discursive/sharing forum: ‘Getting to Grips with MS’.

This unmissable exchange will take place on 08 October in Kettering.

You can check out the suitability / excellence of the venue itself, before making your decision to spend a couple of precious weekend hours meeting others that:

• understand each others ‘uniqueness’;
• are looking forward to enjoying learning a lot of genuinely useful stuff;
• possibly making a whole lot of new friends;

….refer to the blog’s title for my own response….er: YES!.

The thing is, our condition, yes MS, is not anybody’s fault…just as we are: all unique in our own ways: left-handed, right-handed, grammar-school educated, or school-leaver at 15/ as soon as possible…we might try to explain, worse, actually assign ( less favourable aspects of our current circumstances ) on MS…

My truth is that yesterday, one very old, OK, grown up, now 48 year old, primary school friend, her husband, and the oldest of her three daughters, collected me to take me to celebrate the life of the Wing Attack in our school netball team! Liz had lead a very active and 95% happy life, which we were all thrilled to celebrate with her…

I spent a rewarding and entertaining weekend celebrating SalAd [Sally and Adam]’s…geddit? joint 50th birthday celebration/occasion somewhere in the dune/woodland area in Wales, not too far from Swansea…see, if you put your mind to it, if you really want to, there’s maybe a chance you might be able to…give it a go…using sticks now, doubt I’ll congratulate Mum, Judith Tee, as was, for tennis playing endeavours, but can and WILL do what I am able for others with MS…doesn’t define me, does it define you?…

I hope I saw  you in Kettering, Getting to grips with MS on 08 October.

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in Chronic illness, disability, Getting to Grips, Guest blog, MS, MS community, MS News, MS Society, MS Trust, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized, wellbeing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Guest blog: Liz is saying ‘Yes’!

  1. Liz, I totally agree that MS does not define me. Diagnosed 18 years ago, it is just a part of me. I have brown hair, brown eyes and MS. Big whoop. Thanks for sharing your encouraging thoughts. From an American friend.

    Like

Leave a Reply

