Guest blog: My MS Life…

In this guest blog, Christian recounts visiting MS Life, the largest event for MSers, organised by the MS Society…


img_1471So MS life???? Firstly not my first time at the excel but I’m still in awe of the building, it’s enormous. As a venue I thought it was good and easy for me to get to.
I was excited but not sure why, I had heard bits of previous events in Manchester but didn’t really know what to expect and the scale of it all.

The vast array of stalls showcasing the latest mobility aids, activities, talks and MS charities were amazing. I took part in a wheelchair dancing class which erm is not me, I had no rhythm before MS and following progression it didn’t trade me with any silky moves. This is a brilliant way to get you exercising in a fun way, I may of looked silly but who cares?

The talks I sat in on were about research and future treatments particularly for progressive MS, very exciting stuff.

More importantly than all the information though was the overwhelming feeling of community,  people I’d never met, people I knew only from Facebook/Twitter and all the support staff. It was brilliant to spend time and talk to people who just get it. I will be back (that’s not a menacing Arnie I will be back either). Until next time,

Christian Rolfe

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in #SmileswithMyles, Guest blog, London, Mini Myles, MS, MS community, MS Life, MS Society, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

