Bright ideas lead to ‘appiness…

MSUKShoot065.jpgA while ago, I had a bright idea. Granted this doesn’t happen often, so once I got over the shock I thought about it some more.

And the more I thought about it, the more I thought it might just work. Of course, I couldn’t really develop the idea without the support of those affected by multiple sclerosis, so I asked people what they thought of my idea. To my surprise, they liked it too! So, we decided to do it…

You see, what I wanted to do was take New Pathways to a new audience.

MS is increasingly becoming a ‘young person’s’ condition – and by that I mean diagnosis tends to occur between the ages of 20 and 40 (according to the latest figures).

However, the young folk today don’t tend to read magazines. At least not in the traditional way us old folk do.

And what if they’ve just been diagnosed? This can be a difficult time, with lots of questions, worries and concerns. Would you want to be reading a magazine about MS on a bus or train? Especially if you were still coming to terms with the news?

Probably not.

But what if you could access hints and tips, and positive stories about people living life to the full despite being diagnosed with MS, quietly and privately on your smartphone or tablet?

What if there was a digital version of New Pathways?

How many more people could we reach out to and help?

Which is where the hard work began.

And yes, it took longer than I had hoped – but hey, I expect to do things in a morning and then take the rest of the day off with a cup of tea, so this didn’t come as a surprise to anyone but me.

But the hard work and effort has paid off.

Everyone at MS-UK has been involved, and now we are able to shout proudly about My MS-UK.

As well as the latest issue of New Pathways, there are back issues available to buy as well, and you can also subscribe through the app so the latest issue just drops in on release. No waiting for Mr Postman here, no siree Bob.

(Who the hell is Bob? It’s always bothered me. Anyway, I digress…)

And that’s not all.

It being a digital magazine, there are also interactive elements – meaning you can watch videos on the article you’ve just enjoyed reading.

Plus, because we’re all so happy with My MS-UK, we’ve made the latest issue – New Pathways 98 – available for free, so if you have never read the magazine, or haven’t dabbled with digital, now is the perfect time.

For now, My MS-UK is just offering New Pathways, but here at MS-UK we’re not ones for sitting back and putting our feet up. Someone’s always having a think and a thought.

So you can expect My MS-UK to develop and grow in the future, with new content being added in the months and years to come.

In the meantime, put the kettle on, download the current issue, put your feet up (having made the tea and poured it, obviously, otherwise you’ve just boiled water for nothing) and enjoy New Pathways in all its digital glory.

You do that, I’ll crack on with the next issue. Just as soon as I’ve stopped my cat playing with a wasp…

kahnsig

Kahn Johnson

Editor, New Pathways

This entry was posted in app, Charity, MS, MS community, MS News, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, New Pathways, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

