Fundraiser of the Month – Justin Ellis

I’m Justin Ellis and I took part in this year’s London to Brighton run to raise money for MS-UK. I chose to fundraise for MS-UK as I have a friend who lives with multiple sclerosis who has promoted the excellent work they do, making my decision to raise money for them as part of my London to Brighton challenge fairly easy!

I entered to take part in the run over a year ago having seen a few of my friends complete the 62 mile challenge in 2015. I started training in January which included completing 8 marathons, one thirty mile and one forty mile run.

The race day itself was the last bank holiday weekend in May with a very early alarm call (3am) with the run starting at 6.45 in the morning. I ran the whole thing with my fellow partners in crime Danny and David, putting the world to rights and there was plenty of banter flying about. I completed the run in 17 hours and 41 minutes finishing in the early hours of the morning. My lasting memory of the day is the numerous stiles we had to negotiate. If I never see another stile again, I will be a happy man.

In total I have raised £300 for MS-UK. I work for Lloyds Banking Group who have been really supportive of the challenge and promoting the fundraising for MS-UK. This consisted mainly of sharing my Just Giving page with family, friends and colleagues. I really enjoyed completing the London to Brighton Challenge and having the opportunity to raise money for such a worthy charity. My Just Giving page will be open for a few more weeks for anyone reading this wanting to make a donation.

 

This entry was posted in Brighton, Charity, Do your own thing, Fundraiser of the month, Fundraising, London, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Running, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

