MS is not an identity…

In this guest blog by Dominic Shadbolt, you can read about his views on living with multiple sclerosis. Everyone faces things differently, and there is no right or wrong way to live your life with MS, so a big thank you to Dom for sharing his views here. Please do comment in the box below, we would love to know what you think too…


Here’s a thought; some us don’t want to define our identity to others with the lead of, “I’ve got MS”.

I have had it 20 years and I tire of the, “Hello, I’m so and so and I have MS”. Why should we be defined by our condition?

Dom Shadbolt.jpgI believe there is more value in acknowledging it – like cancer or other usually hidden but chronic conditions – for certain, but encouraging people to be the most they can be as the people they are. Those of us with MS are not as some ‘special’ segment of society that needs special sympathy correspondent with the leading identifier of “this is me AND I have MS”.

Personally, I want to know the person, not their condition.

We can’t all be lumped together in some homogeneous pot of MS sufferers.

I’ll dismount from my soapbox now!

Best,

Dom


Need support?

The MS-UK Helpline is here if you need to chat about anything at all.

Live web chat with the MS-UK Helpline team

This entry was posted in Guest blog, MS, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

