Guest Blogger – Odd Pigeon

In the second of our Guest Blogs, Olivia, author of the Odd Pigeon Blog writes about caring for her Mother with MS.


 

OliviaHello, my name is Olivia and I am 14. At just eight years old, I became a young carer for my mother, who has Multiple Sclerosis. I have two older brothers, but I am her main carer. Caring is undeniably difficult, it challenges even the smartest of people, in my experience I enjoy caring. I love my mother in every possible way, she is strong, caring, honest and an inspiration to so many people. My caring role has made our relationship the best it has ever been, we spend almost every moment we can together.

I think the most challenging part of caring is seeing your loved one in pain. On a bad day, all I wish to do is snuggle up together and squeeze the pain away. I want to take it from her, wish away the hurt, erase the bad memories and the daily dozen of medication. It baffles me, it always seems to be the good people that get dealt the worst fates.

The definition of a heroic person is someone who is admired for their courage, their achievements and most of all their noble qualities. Everyone has their own definition of a hero, my mother is my hero. She is inexplicably amazing, my only wish is to be half as brave and courageous, to hopefully one day teach my own children the valuable lessons she has taught me.

Caring for my mother on her bad days is a life lesson, it teaches you integrity, loyalty and how to love unconditionally. When caring gets hard, when you feel like you’re stressed beyond control, like you can’t breathe, the values you’ve been given can help get you through it, help you turn on the light when you’re in pitch darkness! Having motivation and the strength to stay positive is sometimes all you need to carry on.

My message through my blog, is that no one is alone, every carer has a voice.

Everyone can speak up, raise awareness for their experiences! I would like to raise the awareness of Multiple Sclerosis, try and help people to understand what life is like for a person with a degenerative illness.

For now I will leave you with a quote “The best thing to hold onto in life is each other” – Audrey Hepburn

For more of my blogs: Click here
All my love,
The odd pigeon. xx

Author of the Odd Pigeon Blog

About MS-UK

MS-UK was established in 1993, and is a national charity dedicated to empowering people with multiple sclerosis to make the most of today, and live life to the full. We put people affected by MS at the heart of our work. We provide high quality, professional services to support people living with multiple sclerosis, and we listen to people affected by MS.
This entry was posted in Carers, Caring, Guest blog, MS, Multiple Sclerosis, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Guest Blogger – Odd Pigeon

  1. Claire Hirst says:

    I have MS with children of 7 and 9 this young lady is soooo inspiring so caring xx

    Like

  2. Denise Ansell says:

    Just watched you on This morning, so pleased you got a fab surprise you deserve it sweetheart, keep up the good work xxx much love and admiration xx Denise

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Millie says:

    Hi Olivia my names Millie just seen u on the morning and just wanted u to know my mum have MS and a am her career and Ian only ten so some days are hard at some are easy I think u are an insarasin

    Like

  4. Millie says:

    Hi Olivia I am Millie my mum has MS I am ten I do her pills and every thing for her I dress her in the morning I think u are an insparsaion what u do

    Millie xxx😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

