Fundraiser of the Month!

Every month we feature a Fundraiser of the Month in our fundraising e-newsletter…and we always post the full story here!Osborne marathon.png

Fundraiser of the Month

Matt Osborne
My name is Matt Osborne. I’m a 21 year old student at the University of Gloucestershire and I am the current 1st XI captain and community engagement officer for the men’s hockey team. For my last ever BUCS league hockey match, myself and Johnny Ashwin, the club captain, wanted to take the opportunity to raise money for two charities very close to our hearts (MS-UK and Meningitis Research Foundation), and hope to leave behind a lasting legacy for future hockey students at our university.

The charity match took place on Wednesday 09 March vs Swansea University 1st team. I would like to thank both Swansea University Hockey club and the University of Gloucestershire Students Union for all their help in the build up to this event. And a special thanks for all the help we have received from MS-UK and Meningitis Research Foundation. This event would not have been possible without you!

M Osborne.pngThe reason I chose to raise money for MS-UK is because they offer support for those who suffer from a disease that has greatly affected my family. My mum was diagnosed with the ‘Primary Progressive’ form of MS in December 2007 and so I know first hand the struggle that those affected go through day in day out in an unrelenting battle with MS. The way that my mum has dealt with the disease since being diagnosed and continues to fight everyday is an inspiration to me and makes me truly proud to be her son. Because of this I always try to raise as much money as I can for MS-UK. So far I have run the Reading Half Marathon and, in 2014, I was one of the youngest MS-UK representatives to run the London marathon at 19 years old, raising around £3,000. The money raised during the hockey match will be divided equally between MS-UK and Meningitis Research Foundation.

Be the first to hear about our amazing Fundraisers of the Month just by subscribing to the MS-UK fundraising e-newsletter today!

This entry was posted in Charity, Do your own thing, Fundraiser of the month, Fundraising, MS, MS-UK, Multiple Sclerosis, Running, Uncategorized, Virgin Money London Marathon and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

